The Jeepenpol is ready for another test flight

Discussion area for builders of Pietenpol aircraft, both beginners and experienced folks. Share ideas, ask questions and help build the Pietenpol community.
aviken

The Jeepenpol is ready for another test flight

Post by aviken »

I have spent the last few days making more modifications to the Jeepenpol. I finished my new propeller and did a job I have been avoiding all winter and that was to turn a new prop hub out of a large chunk of aluminum on my lathe. I have been testing and using a hub I made out of three pieces of steel welded together then turned true. I of course never intended to fly behind this hub, but I have and it was probably ok but I think I won't push my luck any further. I know some of the more particular builders are shaking their heads and saying "what the hell is wrong with this guy", but I assure you I have a document that says I am a mechanic of good standing with the USA gubment, anyway I wont go further into that discussion.
I have removed the little extra radiator I added to the side to help cooling because I don't think it is needed now that I have the big 8N ford radiator , and the last time I flew the temps stayed low. This mod alone saved about 7-8 lbs off the front, the aluminum hub is about 3 1/2 lbs lighter than the steel one. The Maple prop is about 2 lbs heaver than the the walnut one so I have made a significant improvement in weight.