Steel Fuselage Progress

Discussion area for builders of Pietenpol aircraft, both beginners and experienced folks. Share ideas, ask questions and help build the Pietenpol community.
ArthurD

Steel Fuselage Progress

Post by ArthurD »

Just a few pictures of my fuselage so far...

image4.jpeg
image3.jpeg
image2.jpeg
image1.jpeg
danoliver

Re: Steel Fuselage Progress

Post by danoliver »

Very cool!
What made you go with the steel? I was on the fence for a while but decided in my case wood would be cheaper and faster.
ArthurD

Post by ArthurD »

danoliver wrote: Sat Mar 30, 2019 10:31 am Very cool!
What made you go with the steel? I was on the fence for a while but decided in my case wood would be cheaper and faster.
The main reason I went with the steel fuselage is that I'm a welding engineer so metal fabrication is a bit more in my wheelhouse. The general consensus seems to be that steel fuselages are 10 to 20 lbs lighter. If you crash you're better off in a steel frame since it will bend and absorb energy whereas wood tends to snap. Steel fuselages are also more repairable.

Cost wise wood is better, I spent about $1400 on tubes and plates and the wood kit from aircraftspruce is $1100. Then you also have to consider that the tools required to build the steel tube frame are a lot more expensive.