Instrument Panel

Discussion area for builders of Pietenpol aircraft, both beginners and experienced folks. Share ideas, ask questions and help build the Pietenpol community.
danoliver

Instrument Panel

Post by danoliver »

I’m sort of in between steps on my project so I decided to waste a little time laying out my instrument panel. I’m a very low time student pilot learning in a champ so I don’t know much about the best arrangement but it kinda made sense in my mind to center the flight instruments, put all the engine stuff on the left, and the navigation stuff on the right. Any suggestions, criticisms, comments, or jokes are welcome.
Attachments
54823B37-21AC-4B22-B241-080ECB76E12D.jpeg
Richard Roller

Re: Instrument Panel

Post by Richard Roller »

Looks fine to me. Get that tri-plane!
taildrags

Post by taildrags »

I like where you have the magnetic compass. Mine is roughly "top dead center" in my panel, where you show your ASI, and it's apparently close enough to the steel control stick that when I move the stick towards or away from the compass- the heading readout changes.

Oscar Zuniga
Medford, OR
Air Camper NX41CC, A75 power
Richard Roller

Post by Richard Roller »

Yes, I like the location of the compass also. I can't see the compass in the Piet I fly.
RonTurner

Post by RonTurner »

I read that Wiley Post as well as many Air Mail pilots would rotate their gauges in the panel so that 12 o'clock was normal At a glance they could see all was good. Just a thought.
taildrags

Post by taildrags »