Pietenpol-List: Corvair prop?

An archive of the Matronics Pietenpol Listserve.
matronics

Pietenpol-List: Corvair prop?

Post by matronics »

Original Posted By: "Larry Vetter"
Thanks Scott. I will go your way and use the resettable breakers. Gardiner.Sent from my iPad> On Jul 30, 2015, at 1:20 PM, "AircamperN11MS" wrote:> > > Hi Gardiner,> > You'll like your C-85. I am an EAA Tech counselor and look at many projects.I have seen a few guys use automotive fuses in the aircraft and you can, sinceit is an experimental airplane. > > Now here is my opinion for you:> > I would use aircraft or aircraft quality reset-able circuit breakers for a coupleof reasons. Again, it is your choice but this is why I wouldn't use automotivestuff. > > The wire connections made to the circuit breaker are solid when a screw typeconnection is made at the back of a breaker. Automotive fuses are typically afriction type connection.> > While in-flight and a breaker kicks off you can reset it and hope it holds. With a fuse, you will need to search for one (fuse) and then try to change itin flight. > > Now lets say that you land somewhere and fix whatever caused the fuse or circuitbreaker to fail. With a reset-able circuit breaker you just reset it andyou are on your way. With a fuse, aircraft or automotive style, You will needto find another one somewhere to replace the spare one you have already used.Not very convenient at best.> > Another reason I try to steer folks away of fuses is that the mindset of mostfolks is that (If I replace that 15 amp fuse with a 20 amp fuse) I can make ithome and fix whatever the problem is later. Not a good idea. That may be justthe recipe for a burnt up component or a fire. Maybe losing the whole plane.> > My three cents,> > P.S. I like using a 72x42 prop on my plane. It is a good all around prop forthe Piet.> > Cheers,> > --------> Scott Liefeld> Flying N11MS since March 1972> Steel Tube> C-85-12> Wire Wheels> Brodhead in 1996> > > > > Read this topic online h