Buying used rims and big price differences

Discussion area for builders of Pietenpol aircraft, both beginners and experienced folks. Share ideas, ask questions and help build the Pietenpol community.
PoconoJohn

Buying used rims and big price differences

Post by PoconoJohn »

I'm looking at two rims to buy and there's a $250 difference in price. The cheaper one looks much better and I can't figure out why that would be. What do you think? I'd love to buy new rims, but $2K is steep and I'm leaning to mechanical disc caliper go-kart brakes (not hydraulic).

https://aircraftpartsandsalvage.com/air ... -11/#40-97

https://www.smithsalvageandrestoration. ... ype_3.html

New ones: https://www.groveaircraft.com/61-1.html

Thanks,

John C
jeffreyK

Re: Buying used rims and big price differences

Post by jeffreyK »

John,
I'm not a engineer or mechanic so take this with a grain of salt or two. I had purchased the builders 1-1/2 inch axles from ASS. I had a lot of trouble finding wheels and brakes that weren't expensive and overkill for the Kinetic Energy and Torque requirements for the plane. I spoke with a tech at Matco who stated that the axle I was using may have been common years ago but smaller axles are now used on the lighter planes. Based on the Piet's numbers he advised a 1-1/4" axle for which I bought 2 new 6.00 x6 wheels and external caliper brakes for $900. The axles were about $100 each.